Skip navigation

You are here: Homepage > Press Room > Press Releases > Bermuda Cricket Series

Players of the Cayman Islands Prisonís Cricket team

Published 22nd September 2006, 1:46pm

Cricket players on the staff of the Cayman Islands Prison Department traveled to Bermuda on Sunday 24th September, to take part in the fifth annual Prisons' Triangular series. The 6-day tournament brings together Prison staff of the Cayman Islands, Bermuda and Jamaica, to compete for the Challenge Trophy, which is currently held by the Cayman Islands' team.

The team received substantial support for their trip from the Ministry of Education, Training, Employment, Youth, Sports & Culture. The Minister, Hon. Alden McLaughlin, JP, expressed his excitement over the Cayman team's involvement in the tournament saying, "The Prison team's participation in the Triangular series is an ideal opportunity for the Cayman Islands to strengthen relationships with other participating nations and promote a sport, which is synonymous with the Caribbean region."

Mr. Dwight Scott, Director of Prisons, is enthusiastic about the potential benefits of the Cayman Islands team's participation in the event. He said, "It is our hope that development of these close relations will enable the region's prison staff to readily and effortlessly provide support for each other through the sharing of ideas and resources." He added, "Consequently, this will foster not only the development of the staff themselves, but also that of inmates and the general prison system."

The Triangular Series started taking shape in November 2002, when the Cayman Islands and Jamaica came together in a bid to forge ties between the prisons of the Caribbean. A year later, Bermuda followed suit, and the participation of the three teams inspired the tournament's name, the Triangular Series. Both the Cayman Islands and Jamaica have each hosted the games twice, although the vision of the current participants is that prison staff throughout the region, including those from smaller islands, will be encouraged to form cricket teams who will take part in future tournaments.